Tags

, ,

Enjoyment in all we do.

 

The church I attend has an outreach program that helps people prepare to run the Indianapolis Mini-Marathon. This week I gave the devotional that follows.

 

Speaking in front of a group is something I do not enjoy doing.

But God prepares and commands. We need to listen.

*2 Corinthians 5:20 We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God.

We need to remember when we tell others we are part of Connection Pointe mini-marathon training we are ambassadors for Christ. Are we hindering or helping spread his love.

During races; encourage other runners, tell volunteers thank you.

*Thessalonians 5:11 Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.

We do not always know how words and actions impact others.

I hated running when I was younger. In high school I went out for track because my older sister went out and I did not have a ride home. Surprisingly I was decent.

The following year the cross country coach asked me to go out for Cross Country. He will never know how his belief in me would change the rest of my life.

After I finished school I found a community of runners who encouraged me to compete in a marathon this was in 1985. I loved the distance, but it would be 8 more years before I ran another marathon. I kept running but it would be 6 more years before my 3rd marathon. Then I connected with a group of women that also ran. Our goal became running a marathon in every state. It has been 29 years since I ran my first marathon. Training is not always easy or convenient.

Just like when we dedicate our life to Christ it is not always easy to do what God requires.

My mantra – Stay with the resolution long after the mood of the resolution is gone.

 

Cabin in the Valley was taken while zipping down the back roads of southern Ohio in 2013. I was on my way to Virginia to run my 30th state.

Cabin in the Valley

Cabin in the Valley (before and after photos)

cabin-in-the-valleyweb

